Week 10

I cannot believe that I have been at Hollis + Miller for 10 weeks now.. and that summer is over! But this internship has brought me so much more then learning small tricks in Revit and understanding the detailing language a little bit more. I think that the people and environment have really made this internship what it was. When I worked here over winter break last year I didn’t get to see enough of the firm to appreciate all of the work they continuously do to keep the amazing status. Being fully immersed in the working community helped me to get a glimpse of how great my work life after school can be.

With actual work this week it was a week of waiting. We were waiting to get into the new space of project we started the previous week. The existing building has three separate office spaces currently and one company is taking over the whole space. Eventually later in the week we were able to get into the space and measure everything we needed. I then created an as-built demolition plan in Revit to close our the week.  I wish I could have stayed longer to see this project play out. The specific clients we were talking with from the company had a different idea of how they wanted their new office space to be each time we met. I think it will be a challenging but rewarding project. I am interested in how to work with a client that can be stubborn or not have an open mind of all of the possibilities. I think that I am going to have to keep checking back to see how the progress is coming.

I am thankful for all of my experiences this summer and now I am even more excited to see how I can take this new knowledge back to school and how it will impact my future.

Leave a Reply

