Does it come in black?

This article was not what I was expecting while reading the title, but I completely understand the purpose of the article. The author talks about struggling with the decision of what to wear every morning because she has so many options in her closet. She was used to a boarding school uniform every day until she entered the working world. With opting to only wear black clothes the author decreases the amount of options and regret she has with her outfit every day. The author states that because she works in a design profession, making design decisions every day, she has “design fatigue.” Thus allowing her to focus her decision making on more important things such as her job.

This is very interesting to me. I completely understand the difficulty of choosing an outfit to wear every day after wearing a school uniform from K-12th grade. I also understand the amount of decisions that are needed daily for a profession in the design field, but I have never thought about “design fatigue.” I think that the concept makes complete sense. I am aware that in the design profession every decision is very important and builds off one another. I am also aware that I can make design decisions for work a lot easier then personal decisions.

I think the answer to my indecisiveness also could be found in this article. Don’t give yourself as many options, thus making your decision easier. This is why the author only wore black. I also believe that your work shows in what you do, and not necessarily how you dress. The other stated examples of fashion designers and their monotonous clothing choices while designing spectacular lines for other people.

In the design industry I believe that we put more time and effort into our work then ourselves. We want our work to be cutting-edge and top of the line, while we put ourselves on the back burner sometimes.

 

Holbrook, Tanya. “Does It Come in Black? One Opinion on Why Designers Only Wear Black.” Medium. 101 Advertising, 08 May 2015. Web. 26 June 2015.

View story at Medium.com

One thought on “Does it come in black?

  1. kordia says:

    I thought this article was also really interesting. I know this stereotype is certainly more true in some markets more so than others, and I typically associated it with architects from NYC and Europe. I also assumed it was because in many cultures black is viewed as a classic, timeless color. I never stopped to think that it could have to do with decision and design fatigue and the desire to simplify and focus the decision making process for the day. It also is interesting to think about how the simplicity of black clothing could potentially take the focus off of an individual and redirect it to their work or design.

    Like

Leave a Reply

